The election is still a long way off, but as of July 14, 2017, these 7 Mainers are already running to replace Paul LePage in 2018.

LePage is term limited by the Maine constitution, and can't seek a third term. He was first elected in 2010, and started his term in January 2011. He's set to leave office after two full terms in January 2018. The election to replace him will be held on November 6, 2018.

  • Janet Mills


    Janet Mills from Farmington is currently serving her third term as Maine's first female Attorney General, and has been a frequent critic of Governor Paul LePage. In 1980, Mills was the first female district attorney elected to office in New England, serving Androscoggin, Franklin and Oxford counties. She has served as a DA, State Representative, and Vice Chair of the Maine Democratic Party.

  • Adam Cote


    Adam Cote is an attorney from Sanford. An Iraq War veteran, Cote served in the armed forces for twenty years, and ran unsuccessfully for Congress in 2008.

  • Mark Eves


    Mark Eves served two terms as Speaker of the Maine House of Representatives, and four terms as a representative, serving South Berwick in the House.

  • Mary Mayhew


    Mary Mayhew is a former Commissioner of the Department of Health & Human Services, under Governor Paul LePage.

  • Other Candidates

    Also Running

    Lesser-known candidates also running for Governor include Republican Deril Stubenrod, a write-in candidate for the U.S. Senate in 2014, Democrat Patrick Eisenhart, a retired United States Coast Guard commander, and Democrat Betsy Sweet, a former director of the Maine Women's Lobby.

    For a more updated list of candidates, click here.