Maine’s 52 newest police officers graduated Friday from the Maine Criminal Justice Academy in Vassalboro.

The officers spent eighteen weeks in study and training and most will begin patrolling immediately, in time for Christmas and New Year’s Eve enforcement efforts.

Cumberland County Sheriff Kevin Joyce was the guest speaker who told the new officers that law enforcement is an honorable profession. “You’ll see the best and the worst of people in your career, and each one of you will have a hand in making your communities safer than yesterday,”  Joyce said.

The new officers studied many topics, including crime scene processing, emergency vehicle operation, first aid, traffic and criminal law, domestic violence and sexual assault.

Among the graduates were eight State Police Trooper recruits and Maine Marine Wardens, who will continue training with their departments before patrolling on their own.

Cadet's Name                      Department
Jenna M. Anzengruber         Bangor Police
Tyler A Barnies                     Auburn Police
Brandon G. Barragan           Cumberland County Sheriff's Office
Shaunna C. Beaudoin          Maine State Police
Joshua N. Bernier                Brunswick Police
Ryan J. Brochu                    UMO Police
Drew I. Bunick                     USM Police
Alonzo J. Connor                 Maine State Police
Jasmine M. Cyr                   Houlton Police
Brittany E. Davies                Maine State Police
Eric S. Depner                     Caribou Police
Christopher J. Dickens        Bar Harbor Police
Travis R. Doughty               Maine State Police
Marcus W. Downes             Old Town Police
Codie E. Dube                     Biddeford Police
Kyle P. Forbes                     Portland Police
Kyle P. Franklin                   Maine Warden Service
Paul P. Gauvin                    Saco Police
Jacob J. Gibbs                    Portland Police
Colin A. Gordan                   Falmouth Police
Jeffrey W. Hall                     Ellsworth Police
Benjamin S. Handzel           Maine State Police
Alex P. Hebert                      Maine Marine Patrol
Ryan D. Jackson                 Waldo County Sheriff's Office
Seth A. Johnson                  Augusta Police
Tyler D. Johnston                Bangor Police
Isaiah C. Jones                   Scarborough Police
Michael J. Kennedy             Newport Police
Jeffrey A. Kinney                 Bangor Police
Gregory A. Mailhot              Sabattus Police
Gabrielle M. Mathieu           Topsham Police
Garrett D. McCarthy            Westbrook Police
Elizabeth K. McPhillips        Old Orchard Beach Police Department
Chelsea M. Merry                Somerset County Sheriff's Office
David P. Morin                     Auburn Police
Daniel O. Morrison              Old Orchard Beach Police Department
Bethany S. Nyberg              Brunswick Police
Erik T. Rae                           Sanford Police
Amanda S. Roggio              Gardiner Police
Rodney D. Rossignol          Saco Police
Lydia M. Ruetty                   Scarborough Police
Alisha N. Smith                    Gorham Police
Douglas R. Snyder              Boothbay Harbor Police
Christopher C. Taylor           Rockport Police
Kim J. Theriault                    South Portland Police
Jonathan E. Varnum            Maine Marine Patrol
Anthony J. Verville               South Portland Police
Tifani P.V. Warren                Skowhegan Police
Nicholas J. Wrigley              Westbrook Police
Kenneth A. York                   Penobscot County Sheriff's Office
Eric R. Young                       South Portland Police
Andrew F. Zambella             Maine State Police

More From