Bangor HS senior Trevor DeLaite is already Maine's Gatorade Player of the Year and now he's a finalist for the John Winkin Mr. Baseball Award.

The award goes to the state's top senior baseball player and the honor is named after the late UMaine, Husson and Colby baseball coach John Winkin.

DeLaite, Hermon's Nick Guerette, Penobscot Valley's Thomas Spencer and Oceanside's Nick Mazurek are finalists from North Region schools.

Ben Lambert (Thornton Academy), Connor Aube (Falmouth), Ryan Sinclair (Hall-Dale), Cody Lawyerson (Valley) and Roderick Maynard (Sacopee Valley) are South Region finalists.

DeLaite is now 7-1 with a 0.30 ERA after beating Hampden in the quarterfinal yesterday.

Guerette from Hermon is the PVC Class B Player of the Year.

The winner of Mr. Baseball will be announced June 24th during the annual Senior All Star games, held this year at Colby College.