Six New Brunswick early childhood teachers and three staff members received Franocophone Sector Excellence in Education Awards  this past weekend in recognition of their exceptional work over the 2015-16 school year. 

Education and Early Childhood Development Minister Brian Kenny says the awards recognize teachers and licensed daycare educators for their dedication, ingenuity, leadership, passion, and professionalism.

Jaimie Duplass/TSM

The winners were honoured during an awards ceremony on Saturday, Nov. 5, in Fredericton. Awards were presented to the following:

Francophone Nord-Est school district:

  • Lison Smith, École Terre des Jeunes, Paquetville;
  • Ginette Lebreton, Garderie chez Gigi, Saint-Irénée; and
  • Josée Ferron, École La Mosaïque du Nord, Balmoral.

Francophone Nord-Ouest school district:

  • Isabelle Cormier, Garderie du Domaine, Edmundston; and
  • Karyne Proulx, École Mgr-Lang, Drummond.

Francophone Sud school district :

  • Jean-Marc O’Brien, École Mgr-Marcel-François-Richard, Saint-Louis de Kent;
  • Christine Bourgeois, Garderie Petits Moineaux, Memramcook; and
  • Jeanne Bourque et Suzanne Cormier, École W.-F.-Boisvert, Rogersville.

Kenny also congratulated all teachers and educators from the early childhood sector for their work and contribution to student learning, as well as to the province’s education system.